John Hanson Memorial Math Grant Recipients Announced

We are proud to announce the 2018-19 John Hanson Memorial Math Grant recipients! After a review of all applications, The Actuarial Foundation selected five educators from across the United States for this year’s John Hanson Memorial Educator Math Grants. Each recipient’s school will receive a $500 grant to help conduct an activity, run an event, purchase materials or provide other support that will enhance their math classroom and help them use the Modeling the Future Challenge to engage and excite their students about mathematics!

The 2018-19 grant recipients are:

  • Jake Crawley, Manara Leadership Academy, Irving, Texas
  • Natalie Johnson, Metea Valley High School, Aurora, Illinois
  • Nikki Kennedy, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts, Hot Springs, Arkansas
  • Carole Ng, Santa Teresa High School, San Jose, California
  • Christopher Pakdel, St. Anthony High School, Long Beach, California

This year’s applications presented many educators who were so deserving of the support from the John Hanson Memorial Grant. We are thrilled to see such enthusiasm for the Modeling the Future Challenge and look forward to seeing how each of these educators apply this support to enhance their teaching of mathematics through the MTF Challenge! Visit this page to learn more about applying for next year’s John Hanson Memorial Math Grants.

Although this year’s grant application has passed, registration for the MTF Challenge itself is open until November 11th. Registration is free and we encourage all high school math educators to get their students involved in this year’s exciting challenge to predict how new cures to chronic illness can change the future. Register your team here.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *