Outreach & Mentorship Committee

The Outreach & Mentorship Committee supports the Modeling the Future Challenge by engaging with and supporting educators across the country. Committee members help educators find out about the MTF Challenge and help guide them through the materials and resources. Some committee members also develop more hands-on relationships with specific schools to help mentor them through the program. The committee consists of actuaries and other professionals from various mathematical fields. The committee provides a valuable resource to all educators interested in using the MTF Challenge to engage their students in applied mathematics and the excitement of forecasting changes to the future that new technologies may bring.

If you are an actuary, or in a related profession, and would like to learn more about becoming a member of the Outreach & Mentorship Committee for upcoming Modeling the Future Challenges, please contact: challenge@mtfchallenge.org

2017-2018 Outreach & Mentorship Committee Members

Orlando Asuncion, ASA



Brittany Baudier, Candidate

Robert Conger, FCAS

Bob Conger is a property/casualty actuary with a particular specialization in workers compensation insurance.  He has spent the most recent thirty years of his career working as an actuarial consultant, and volunteering with a focus on supporting the development of the actuarial profession in places and populations where it is not well established.

Herschel Day, FSA

Herschel Day is an Associate Professor of Mathematics at the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire (UWEC), a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries, and a Member of the American Academy of Actuaries.  He has over 10 years of industry experience, primarily in health care.  In his last role before joining UWEC, Herschel was Staff Vice President, Actuarial Health Care Reform Lead at Anthem, a health benefits company with approximately 40 million members. 

Emily Donatelli, ACAS

Dennis Egan, Candidate

Helen Galt, FSA



Ron Gebhardtsbauer, FSA

Roy Goldman, FSA

Roy is a retired actuarial executive who was a Chief Actuary or CFO of four major health insurers. He serves on the board of directors of the Society of Actuaries and The Actuarial Foundation and is a member of the Health Advisory Panel of the Congressional Budget Office. He has a Ph.D. in mathematics and is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries, a member of the American Academy of Actuaries, and a Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst. He has been active in actuarial and public education for most of his career.   

Jane Hamrick, FSA

Jane Hamrick is a Vice President and Actuary at New York Life and is currently its tax actuary.  She is  Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and a member of the American Academy of Actuaries.  In addition to being a trustee of The Actuarial Foundation, she has served on various industry committees.  She graduated from Goucher College and has a Master's degree from Northeastern University.

Melissa Hollis, FSA

Melissa is an actuary at Principal in Des Moines, Iowa.  She works on the Business Analytics team within the Specialty Benefits Division which includes group dental, vision, life, disability and critical illness insurance, and individual disability insurance.  Melissa is a graduate of Bryant University and Concord Law School and is a member of California Bar Association.

Tiffany Huyser, Candidate

Jeff Johnson, FSA



Raj Johri, FSA

Janis Kane, FSA

Nalene Langley, FSA

Marco Martinez, Professor

Jelena Milovanovic, ACIA

Marina Pedisich, Candidate

Heather Ramsey, Professor

Wafaa, Shaban, ASA

Julie Shuman, FSA

Clark Slipher, FSA, MAAA

Clark Slipher is a retired Principal of Milliman, Inc.  He worked at Milliman for 20 years as a health insurance consultant.  Most recently, he served as the National Director of Milliman's health practice and was on the firm's Board of Directors for seven years. Clark graduated from Ball State University. Clark also served on the examination committee and health insurance task forces.  As a recent retiree, Clark volunteers for the Red Cross and Milwaukee Rescue Mission (tutoring and mentoring on professional development)

Joel Steinberg, FSA

Jayne Waggoner, FSA

Jayne is the Director and Actuary of Business Development of the Global Preneed division at Assurant in Rapid City, SD.  She is a graduate of the University of North Dakota with degrees in Marketing and Mathematics with a concentration in statistics.

Amy Wagler, Professor

Lisa Walsh, FCAS



Susan Watson, M.S., FSA

Director, School of Actuarial Science and Risk Management, Drake University.

Karena Weikel, ASA

Karena is directly accountable to the Chief Financial Officer/Chief Actuary for Geisinger Health Plan. She is a risk professional with 15 years of healthcare experience and is a graduate of Bloomsburg University with a Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics and Statistics and a Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education. Karena has earned the FAHM and CSFS designations. She is an Associate of the Society of Actuaries (ASA) and is currently pursuing her fellowship certification.

Nate Worrell, FSA

Nate Worrell helps actuaries around the world model the future. He's on the actuarial support team for AXIS, an insurance modeling software from GGY, a Moody's Analytics company. He is a graduate of the University of St. Thomas, and currently lives in the Pacific Northwest with his wife and kids. In addition to modeling the future, Nate also loves to write about it.  This year is his fourth time competing in the Actuarial Speculative Fiction Contest.

Zhixin Wu, ASA

Sheng Xiong, Professor